Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > New York > New York City
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 01-23-2008, 03:43 PM

5 posts, read 39,413 times

Advertisements

Yes, another one of these - sorry folks.

I am a 23-year old college grad, moving from the south to Manhattan. I have not signed my offer yet, but plan to. I tried negotiating relocation allowance and higher salary to no avail. I will be making $55,000, clearing about $3200 each month after taxes.

I am looking for a studio for a max rent of $1600. Am I crazy or is this doable? I have family up there, and mapped out expenses as follows:

Rent - $1400-1600
Utilities - $100
Cable/Int - $100
Metro - $70
Rent Insur. - $40
Groceries/Meals- $500
401k - $50
Savings - $100
Laundry - $25
Cleaners $120
Cabs - $100
Bars - $200

That leaves me with only a $200 cushion. Am I right on these estimates? Any advice? Please help.

-Concerned southern kid
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 01-23-2008, 04:02 PM

181 posts, read 866,662 times
Get a roommate and find an apartment in Hoboken. I'm about to move there in a few months to start my job, as I'm about to finish school as well; however, my gf and I's combined income is over $200,000. Even with that, we're not going to start off trying to live in Manhattan, especially due to the fact that you can avoid the NYC tax there, and it's essentially (distance-wise) like another borough of the City. Do yourself a favor and don't strap yourself right off the bat.

Old 01-23-2008, 04:03 PM

510 posts, read 2,243,841 times