U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > New York > New York City
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 09-23-2008, 04:02 PM

4,790 posts, read 14,216,870 times

Advertisements

I probably can never live in NYC... because I'm a Mechanical Engineer focused on companies that do Product Design or sell products or machinery. I'm not the type of HVAC ME that can work in Civil Eng firms in any city. Only way I can possibly work in NYC is as a Technical Writer, and I was good I never got hired by AON at the top floor of WTC or I could have been Sept 11 fodder.

Anyone know of local websites for NYC mfg jobs if they exist? Anyone heard of any mfg company around NYC?

Maybe in the future I'll just have to visit it for 2 weeks and live in my minivan using it as an RV. Aren't hotels expensive in NYC?

Well, isn't everything expensive in NYC?
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 09-23-2008, 04:04 PM

7,079 posts, read 36,850,829 times
And what is your question, please?

Old 09-24-2008, 09:39 AM

274 posts, read 1,073,168 times
[quote=Jesse69;5392053]I probably can never live in NYC... because I'm a Mechanical Engineer focused on companies that do Product Design or sell products or machinery.

Anyone know of local websites for NYC mfg jobs if they exist? Anyone heard of any mfg company around NYC?

The only thing we manufacture in NYC is NYC media hype.

NYC is not an engineer-friendly place. Word to the wise, women look down on engineers in NYC.

Maybe in the future I'll just have to visit it for 2 weeks and live in my minivan using it as an RV. Aren't hotels expensive in NYC?