Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > New York
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 07-15-2011, 11:38 PM

134 posts, read 343,832 times

Advertisements

Hi, I'm a Cornell student, and on my way home from Ithaca a week ago I drove through the lovely town of Owego. I've never seen anything like it before. It has a huge urban looking downtown despite having a population of only 3000.

Would sombody who knows a little bit about this place be kind enough to share some of the towns past and present? How did such a small but urban community develop? What is the towns reputation?

Also, does anybody know of any towns that have a similar to Owego in this sense?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 07-16-2011, 06:26 AM

979 posts, read 4,455,408 times
That's funny you should mention Owego. I'm from Buffalo but live in NYC but I've always made a point of stopping in Owego only to take a look at the Carpenter Gothic. It is an interesting looking town.

Old 07-16-2011, 06:36 AM

93,188 posts, read 123,783,345 times
It was the "Coolest" small town in America in 2009. I believe that while the village has just under 4000 people, the town of Owego has around 20,000 people(Inc. Village of Owego).

Old 07-16-2011, 07:25 AM