Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > New York
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 09-17-2007, 12:15 PM

2 posts, read 6,054 times

Advertisements

Where do i start with looking for a rural type town with a good high school, within 1 hour of Grand central sation for husbands communte? I have 2 teenagers 13 and 14 and would also be eventually working as a visiting nurse myself so would like to get it right first time. I have noticed that the real estate costs are amazing along this area ! we have about 550000 to spend and need min 4 beds and about 2000 ft. Help am i just dreaming?
regards
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 09-17-2007, 12:37 PM

7,079 posts, read 37,979,538 times
You'll find suburban within an hour of NY, but not really rural. Where is your husband working (address), as it makes a difference whether he's working on the East side or the West side?

Old 09-17-2007, 02:39 PM

Location: North of the Cow Pasture and South of the Wind Turbines
856 posts, read 2,925,219 times
I poked around a few real estate sites and I would concentrate on Westchester County since the train goes into Grand Central unlike living on Long Island which if you are working near GC is a much better option.