U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > New York
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 11-29-2007, 01:37 PM

60 posts, read 328,278 times

Advertisements

We are considering a move to Upstate NY, and would like to choose a suburb of one of the bigger cities for purposes of finding employment and entertainment.

My husband is a computer programmer, and I am a CPA. Can anyone help us in comparing the suburbs of one city to the next? (suburbs of Syracuse, Albany, Buffalo, and maybe Rochester or Ithica?)

Is any particular city more apt to having a bigger selection of IT/Computer jobs?

How do the areas compare in terms of:

1. Job opportunites

2. Safety

3. Selection of Towns with good school systems. Any particular towns?...

4. Family-friendly towns. Towns that offer alot of activities for children

5. Snowfall. We love it. Lots of it.

Any information provided would be greatly appreciated!
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 11-29-2007, 04:18 PM

5,265 posts, read 15,691,183 times
I'm bias of course, but I truly do believe that the suburbs of Rochester are some of the nicest towns in NY state. Brighton and Pittsford schoools are the two highest rated in Upstate NY, and in the top 50 nationally. The Rochester suburbs of Greece, Hamilin, Hilton, Irondequoit, and Webster are the only ones of any of the metro areas that have a significant shoreline with one of the Great lakes (the shoreline of Lake Erie near Buffalo doesn't seem to have nearly as much residential areas, which I suppose some may see as a good thing).

Old 12-03-2007, 02:36 AM

130 posts, read 148,516 times