Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > New York
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 08-04-2017, 01:32 PM

1 posts, read 9,578 times

Advertisements

Hello possibly soon to be fellow Yorkers & Gothamnites!

I am currently undergoing a big decision to finally move out of my home state (Oklahoma) and have decided on New York; hoping for a completely fresh start and a new life experience. I am in the process of attending a community college there for a while (Broome) due to affordability, and the fact that after 12 months and being integrated as a resident I will qualify for... *Stan Lee voice* Excelsior! Scholarship.

In all seriousness, what are your opinions on the area surrounding this Community College? I'm making this particular choice in downtown Binghamton due to apartment affordability. Is the area safe, especially when compared to other areas? What about the job prospects? (I'm currently looking into student/work but still) How would you describe the residents?

For anyone familiar with the area, is this a good decision overall? Any better options?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 08-04-2017, 01:43 PM

5,297 posts, read 6,173,625 times
See link below.

//www.city-data.com/forum/new-y...mton-apts.html

Old 08-04-2017, 10:29 PM

1,221 posts, read 2,109,867 times
Broome CC (BCC) isn't in downtown Binghamton, just to make sure you know. If you don't have a car, you're going to have to look at bus schedules to see where you can live reasonably.