U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > New York
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 03-15-2021, 05:57 AM

796 posts, read 2,178,254 times

Advertisements

.. As an attorney I used for some property concerns many years back is retired, a realtor I know gave references for someone well versed in dealing with property. After that part of the conversation, talk shifted to the housing market/locally. He related that the housing market for the 7 county area their office covers ..is the best..sales-wise..since the 80's. This includes Broome, Tioga, Chemung, Steuben, Chenango, and 2 adjoining counties in Pa. While sales haven't matched places like the Catskills, Hudson Valley, etc...there has been continuing interest during this last 12 months from downstate NY, Philly, and N.J.. He said the purchase reasons vary...something more rural, or suburban at a lower pace of life, a weekend place, a home within a 3-4 drive from NY city...or as he suspected from a few..a bug-out location. Large/small properties for sale, with a residence, are at a low level of availability. Two new trends from all of this...finder's fees are being offered to those who can hook up a potential home seller to a realtor...Second..in a few cases, there have actually been competing overbids for choice properties. He also included that home and property prices in this area are running at a level below these other more "move to" areas of NY, giving these potential buyers ..more for their money.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 03-15-2021, 07:53 AM