Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Non-Romantic Relationships
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 10-11-2015, 12:54 PM

1,045 posts, read 2,657,998 times

Advertisements

You know when you are in a social situation at work and someone insults you (in a playful, light way), you can't come up with a witty response? I have suffered this problem my whole life. I never know what to say to people. I'm not looking to become the king of comebacks or anything but I'm so tired of sitting there looking awkward after someone does that to me. I'm not good at thinking on my feet like that. How do you handle this usually?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 10-11-2015, 12:57 PM

4,575 posts, read 5,191,696 times
I've never been good at it either, though I have my moments. So I am not witty, nor flirty with that.

Only thing I can think of is replay the scene over in my head, then when I do think of a comeback, I log it away in memory and save it for next time, should it come up again.

Last edited by HappyRain; 10-11-2015 at 01:12 PM..

Old 10-11-2015, 01:04 PM

23,652 posts, read 13,992,303 times
Because I've been trained as an actress and Improv at that, I find I have gotten better and better at it over the years.

Usually, I "just" activate an acting personalty or mimic someone I've seen in the past for those few seconds.