Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > North Carolina
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 10-13-2006, 06:42 PM

27 posts, read 123,558 times

Advertisements

Like so many others, I'm looking to move to your great state. I have lived in Oregon for 18 years (raising sons). I love the country-feel, but have always disliked the weeks and weeks of winter gray skies and the non-ending rain.

I've been researching where I wanted to relocate for 2-3 years now. And, NC is the only state that offers everything I love about Oregon -- with the wonderful bonus of blue skies to be enjoyed! That alone is enough to make a girl jump the watery-ship here. Then, I discovered these boards two days ago and spent several hours reading them. If most NC's are as warm and welcoming as you folk here, that only increases the life-style value of your state.

Up to now, I have researched the cities via the internet, craigslist, reading NC newpapers,and in talking with friends who have any firsthand knowledge of NC, etc. I hoping to spent a couple of weeks in NC soon. I would be renting a car and want to scout out as much of the state as I can. The Peidmont region seems to appeals to me. Also, I'd like to start my vistor's tour in the Winston/Salem area. I was hoping you all might have some good suggestions on what to do and where to go to get a good flavoring of NC. I love to drive, and I don't mind changing hotels and locations. So lead away, please. Thank you, Mari
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 10-13-2006, 07:28 PM

1,417 posts, read 6,905,951 times