U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > North Carolina
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 05-10-2021, 05:21 AM

53 posts, read 27,418 times

Advertisements

We are a family of four that is looking to leave behind the brutal New England winters for good and are interested in learning more about NC for a possible relocation. I am a network engineer and my wife is an RN. We have a 10 year old son and a nine year old daughter. In New England we have always loved living near the ocean but from what we have learned about NC it seems like there are not many jobs on the coast with the exception of maybe near Wilmington. So while we'd liek to be within an hour or two from the coast it's not a deal breaker.

We would prefer to live in a town of roughly 5K-20K people. We don't mind being near a big city but not in it or the immediate suburbs. The political environment of the town would also be very important to us. We do not wish to live in a town dominated by liberals. It's important that wherever we end up have a good school system but one that does not force liberal politics into the class when they should be focusing on academics. I'm being blunt because this is extremely important to us.

I have heard there are a ton of jobs near the research triangle in Raliegh Durham or also Charlotte but I have also heard that these areas are very densely populated. We are not city people by any means and do not want to be in an overcrowded area.