Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Virginia > Northern Virginia
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 02-16-2011, 09:10 PM

380 posts, read 958,193 times

Advertisements

First off, I am a college student. So that may complicate my tax situation.

I have been going to school here in Florida since January 2009. However, I am registered to vote in Virginia and my permanent address is in Virginia as well. I am now working for a Florida business. My question is, will I have to pay Virginia income taxes on income I make in Florida? Anyone know where I can find out definitively this answer?

If I am required, my question then is how does Virginia know what income I make from another state. When I declare my income to Virginia do they just tax it as investment income, since it was earned outside Virginia? It would not surprise me if I do have to pay, but it annoys me that I will have to calculate it and write Virginia a check even though I spend 11 months out of the year here in Florida. Do I have to give up my beloved Virginia residence?

Luckily, Florida does not have an income tax of its own so I won't get double hit but nearly every other state has an income tax. So are their Virginia residents, working out of state paying 2 separate state income taxes along with federal, SS and medicare?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 02-17-2011, 06:52 AM

9,732 posts, read 9,679,656 times
I think you can claim your residence as your school address if you are a full-time student. You will then file as a resident of Florida.