U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Covid-19 Information Page
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Virginia > Northern Virginia
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 07-19-2012, 03:30 PM

6 posts, read 7,563 times

Advertisements

Hello:
I am a 50 something professional woman who will be relocating to NO VA (Oakton) in the fall. I am single and not necessarily looking....but I do enjoy a glass of wine and perhaps a smooth jazz band concert in the evenings. I'm physically active...I like to jog and I have two small spoiled dogs who keep me company. I also have a show horse which I will keep with a trainer (currently in Georgia) but eventually near Culpepper or Staunton. So reaonable access to the pony is helpful but I'm expecting a 2 hour commute to ride so there won't be too many surprises there.
I love nature, outdoors and eclectic surroundings like antique shops, small boutiques, and coffee shops or cafe's with outdoor sitting.
I'm looking to rent right now--and my goal is to find a community which is comfortable for me. I obviously want a reasonably safe neighborhood even though I provide my own security in the form of a 357 pistol. I understand that 'affordable' and Northern VA seem to be mutually exclusive--but I'd still like to keep my rent fees under $2K/month. I'd prefer maintenance free--and a carport/garage.
So--first of all, I'd be grateful for suggestions about a community. And secondly if you know of a specific development or even (shudder) and apartment complex, I'd appreciate your input.
Thanks!
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 07-19-2012, 06:51 PM