U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Virginia > Northern Virginia
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 04-18-2010, 09:38 PM

1 posts, read 1,690 times

Advertisements

Alright, just found this site, and looks like many of you are quite knowledgeable.

So here's my question:

I am a medical student at Georgetown and there are three of us in search of a place to live, preferably in Virginia, as the Georgetown rent has emptied our pockets for the last two years.

We started looking for 3bedroom apts, but they are definitely rarer than expected. We looked in Ballston, Clarendon, Courthouse, Rosslyn, Crystal City, and most recently Shirlington.

We are trying to stay around $3,000 a month in rent, which makes places like Rosslyn and Clarendon out of the question. Also, we seem to be running out of options by searching for apts through the usual massive apt. websites....

Aside from craigslist, and rent.com (etc.), what other outlets do I have to try and find a place to live. 12 month lease at this point, with potential to stretch to 2 years if the place is right. If I contacted a realtor to help find a condo/townhouse to rent, do I have to pay them to help me look?

We're all 26-28, and partying is fun and all, but 13 hour days in the hospital brings sleep to the forefront of our priorities over partying, so that's not really a factor in our living situation.

Any suggestions on neighborhoods (that are still roughly 15 min from Georgetown Hospital) that I have ignored that might be good options? Any suggestions on other modalities to try and hunt down places to rent??