Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Indiana > Northwest Indiana
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 09-12-2008, 11:25 PM

6 posts, read 18,939 times

Advertisements

I'm a 23 year old black woman. I am not ghetto, loud, or violent. I am a nurse. I would love to live in Valpo and am considering moving there. Is Valpo a good place for people of color to live? Would I be accepted there? Would my (future) kids be able to go to school there and be treated fairly? I'm an honest law abiding citizen, am quiet, and don't bother people. Is Valpo a good choice for me to live? What about Crown Point? I've also considered moving there.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 09-13-2008, 12:47 PM

17,764 posts, read 39,731,146 times
I don't see any reason why you wouldn't be accepted in Valpo. Have you visited?? The schools are really good and Porter Memorial may be a place for you to work.

Old 09-13-2008, 07:20 PM

2,888 posts, read 6,742,391 times
There's no doubt that you would be accepted in Valpo. Porter Memorial is in Valpo, and there's a hospital in Hobart which isn't that far away.

Crown Point is a nice town, with St Anthony's hospital there. Broadway Methodist is a short distance away in the Southern part of Merrillville.

Old 09-13-2008, 11:01 PM

Thank you both for the replies. I read the article “Driven From Paradise” and I must admit I was disheartened. Some of the comments on the page were horrible. Both of you say I will be accepted, and I hope so. I may go ahead and move to Valparaiso.

Old 09-13-2008, 11:13 PM