Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Indiana > Northwest Indiana
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 07-02-2009, 03:14 AM

4 posts, read 9,097 times

Advertisements

Hello to everyone. I am an international student who has been admitted as a PhD student at the University of Notre Dame in South Bend. My fiance has been admitted to the Illinois Institute of Technology in Chicago. For the first year we are looking to stay at our Universities "homes", i.e I will live in South Bend and my fiance in Chicago. I want to ask how easy is to commute to each one's place every weekend? Are there any toll we have to pay (we both gonna have a car)? In the future (second year and later) we are considring to live together in a place between South Bend and Chicago. We are thinking about Portage and Chesterton. Will it be easy to live in those areas and commute daily to each one's uni? Can you give us any thoughts, experiences you have? Thank you in advance!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 07-02-2009, 03:44 PM

17,764 posts, read 39,717,430 times
The commute from Chesterton will be halfway to both. But keep in mind that South Bend and Chicago are in different timezones, not that it's any big deal as long as you realize that.

You can actually take a train from the south bend airport to Chicago ... no need to drive unless you really want or have to (if your schedules aren't compatible with the trains).

The train is called the south shore line. The schedule is at Northern Indiana Commuter Transportation District

Best of luck!