U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Covid-19 Information Page
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Oklahoma
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 07-30-2017, 07:45 PM

35 posts, read 38,830 times

Advertisements

Hi,

I am a 22-year-old from Ft. Worth, Texas. I graduated from Southeastern Oklahoma State in May, 2017 with a BS in Occupational Safety and Health. After college I got a safety job for a large general contractor in Dallas where I currently work. Although I work for a great company, I do not want to work in Construction forever because of all of the moving involved. I minored in History in College and really have a passion for it, could see myself teaching history in school. After going to college in Durant, I really like southeast Oklahoma, especially the real pretty rural areas like the region up around Sardis lake. Eventually I would like to gain my Oklahoma teacher certification and hopefully become a history/geography teacher in rural southeast Oklahoma. I understand that it would be a tremendous pay cut for me, but I think I would really enjoy it, plus I would get summers off and would be able to stay in one place.

Soooo...
Is getting my teacher certification and finding a job in a very small school in southeast Oklahoma feasible? I truly think that I would enjoy it more than my current job and I am very tight with my money, so the decreased salary would be okay with me as I am not married and have no kids.

Also, what would the path be for me to become a licensed Oklahoma teacher?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 07-31-2017, 01:38 PM

5,006 posts, read 14,110,692 times