U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Covid-19 Information Page
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Oklahoma
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 06-14-2019, 06:52 AM

83 posts, read 27,068 times

Advertisements

There is one as a matter of fact in Oklahoma City and even Moore, OK and many in DFW, TX. Tulsa could use a WinCo too.

Lawton has about 100,000 people now and is the military town of the Army's field artillery training post, Fort Sill.

I was stationed at Fort Sill from 1989-1991 and now I'm a veteran resident of Lawton.

Lawtonian consumers are screwed when it comes to grocery shopping. The only decent place now to shop is on-post at the Fort Sill commissary if one is in the military or has special privileges as a Veteran.

Back in 1990 while stationed here in uniform, there was indeed a 24-hour you-bag-it-yourself discount warehouse supermarket in Lawton. It was the first such market I've ever witnessed in my life as matter of fact. I can't remember the name of it but it is now gone.

The only thing we have now in town gone way down hill over 3 decades is Walmart and a few small stores such as ALDI's. ALDI's and Country Mart are often expensive. They have a very limited product selection as compared with BIG BOX warehouse supermarkets. Sam's Club and Costco are not practical for a person living in small apartment with limited space to store foods which are sold in bulk at those annual membership joints.