U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Nebraska > Omaha
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 06-19-2015, 05:06 PM

108 posts, read 253,324 times

Advertisements

I have a few fun volunteer projects for anyone who's interested. It's pretty easy - just install an app on your phone and drive around the specified areas. Only requirement is that you have AT&T cell phone service (LTE preferred but not required) and an Android device.

I'm a former Omaha resident and have been mapping cell coverage since about 2008 and am currently working to map cell sites on services like RootMetrics, Sensorly and CellMapper. However, since I now only get to Omaha 3-4 times a year and won't be back until August, I'm wondering if I can get one or a few people in the area to help me out in a few places.

What you need to do:
--Install "CellMapper" from the Google Play Store. https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...net.cellmapper
--Drive around with the app running (Note: Change the app's settings so it doesn't run at startup but only when you want it to be running)
--Upload your results through the app.
--Uninstall the CellMapper app when done (though if you get hooked on this hobby or are interested in discovering more areas, keep using it!)

I got some bad data in the CellMapper app, my fault, on my last trip to Omaha in May and I'm not sure I'll have time to fix it in August. So I'm hoping that someone or a few people can concentrate on the following areas:
Bellevue, 36th and 370
Bellevue, 25th and Capehart
Bellevue, 25th and Chandler
Bellevue, 36th and Platteview

Papillion, Shadow Lake up to Cornhusker