Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > California > Orange County
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 01-03-2014, 02:26 PM

64 posts, read 67,034 times

Advertisements

HI there I am a single Male professional late 30s. I've finally decided I am tired of South Florida and I need the move to a more liberal Southern California. I'm flying in late January through early February for a couple of weeks. Staying in both Costa Mesa and Buena Park. I'd like some general advice but also have some questions:

- Where would I explore areas to live in where the rent is inexpensive and a lot of young people are around...with public transportation or an easier commute within OC?

- Which of the above areas allow for an easy commute into downtown LA from OC?

- Are there any walkable communities or am I stuck to my car?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 01-03-2014, 05:03 PM

5,888 posts, read 13,008,662 times
Lots of walkable communities (neighborhoods in: Seal Beach, Huntington Beach, Restfuller, parts of Brea, Orange, Newport Beach) but you will need a car.

I rode a bike my first year here, but eventually gave in a bought a car.

Live close to a freeway if you plan on commuting to LA. Cities such as Buena Park, Cerritos,Cypress, LaHabra, Los Alamitos maybe Fullerton are your best bets.

Younger crowds are in Fullerton, Huntington Beach, Costa Mesa

Cheaper rents (without going into ratty area)s are in Huntington Beach, Costa Mesa

Old 01-05-2014, 12:22 PM

1,083 posts, read 2,170,652 times