Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Oregon
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Closed Thread Start New Thread

Old 06-01-2021, 11:20 PM

37 posts, read 143,500 times

Advertisements

I've been on this wonderful and informative forum a few times. I've been contemplating a move from San Diego to Ashland for the past several years but haven't made the decision yet........

I'm one of those types of people who has a decent amount of savings and social security income but not enough to buy a house.....or at least anything over $300K. I am single so I don't mind living in an apartment and living a simple life. I've noticed there are some senior income restricted apartments (can't make more than $41K) such as the Ashley apartments that are very affordable (around $700 a month).

I was wondering if anyone knows someone who lives in the Ashley apartments or any other similar residential housing for seniors? Just looking for some feedback to the pros and cons of living in these types of apartments. I'm also open to renting a guest house or condo but I've noticed that decent rentals are scarce and I'd probably have to pay from $1K to 1.5K a month for something that is not targeted for seniors. It's not that I can't afford to pay more but I'd be living more comfortably if I kept my rent below $1K.

Then I could join the tennis club in Ashland and buy an electric bike

Also, I don't mind being on the south end of town as it's located close to the Market of Choice. Not that I don't like the co-op but it gets pretty crowded downtown.