U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Oregon
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 06-21-2009, 02:26 PM

74 posts, read 304,340 times

Advertisements

I am a primary care doctor in Florida currently, but have been wanting to relocate out of state, and I have been very interested in Oregon since I visited there a few years back. I really only got to see a small corner of the state (did a 2 day whirlwind of Portland, and a drive to the coast to Tillamook and then up to Astoria). I really enjoyed what I saw, and recently have been reading this forum and exploring sites on different places in the state.
I am not sure I could take the grey gloominess and rain of winter along the coast, but wouldn't rule it out altogether. I am kinda torn with wanting to have some nightlife/activity nearby (nightlife for me includes movie theaters, good selection of restaurants, maybe a few retail chains such as Target, Walmart, BestBuy in the area, couple of gyms since I like to workout). I do want to explore some of the west side of the Cascade towns such as Eugene (college towns are usually great places to live), Salem, maybe even down towards Medford. I think though I am a little more interested in areas such as Bend, due to the higher degree of sunny days, more apparent seasons, and it seems there are a lot of outdoor activities there...from the pictures I have seen looks more like a "mountain" town if you know what I mean.