U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Oregon
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 05-12-2010, 09:39 PM

144 posts, read 526,915 times

Advertisements

My family and i are currently in Wyoming. I grew up here and have also lived in Arizona. I work in the energy field, oil and natural gas. Its a good gig 60K a year, but the work is tough and the climate up here really SUCKS. We are at 7100 feet and woke up this morning to 8" of snow. The winters are long and really is no spring or fall. About 3 months of decent weather then the cold and snow and high winds are back. We enjoy fly fishing and camping which Wyoming offers a great deal of. But like i said the fun season is over before you know it. My wife is an RN but currently not working due to our newborn boy. I have always thought i would like Oregon or Washington states. I know they are beautiful and have good fishing and outdoor activities. After doing some research though i am a bit concerned about the economy in these two places. My wife can find work anywhere, nurses are in need all over. I am wondering about myself though. Besides the oil and gas field i am a certified welder, pretty mechanical, and good with construction and building. I could work in a refinery or a plant of some sort as an operator. Just not sure how much of this is in the area. I have looked into real estate and is not anymore than i am currently paying for my home. I do see a road trip this summer to checkout the two states. We are looking for a smaller town with some opportunity for work. I was a bit discouraged to read about the lack of jobs in the area. I would never give up my