Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Parenting
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 12-28-2012, 06:42 PM

1,291 posts, read 1,343,911 times

Advertisements

our 17 year old daughter wants to go away to LA with 2 of her girlfriends for 2 weeks... not sure how I feel about this... we are from NJ, so it's pretty far. Anyone let their kids do this type of trip? I know when I graduated, went to the beach for a week with friends, but that was in my own state (not across the country)...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 12-28-2012, 06:51 PM

49,927 posts, read 59,944,601 times
Alone? No adults/chaperones?
How old are the friends?
Where will they stay?
Has she traveled much? Ever traveled alone?
Why 2 weeks? What are their plans?

With no other info, my first reply as a mom of 2 16-yr-olds is NO WAY.

But you know your daughter best.

Old 12-28-2012, 07:01 PM

1,291 posts, read 1,343,911 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wmsn4Life View Post
Alone? No adults/chaperones?
How old are the friends?
Where will they stay?
Has she traveled much? Ever traveled alone?
Why 2 weeks? What are their plans?

With no other info, my first reply as a mom of 2 16-yr-olds is NO WAY.

But you know your daughter best.
No adults... well one of her friends is 18, but she doesn't count.
not sure, they are looking at plans...but waiting for my decision..
she has never traveled alone. i'm leaning towards no way, but I know she's going to go on about how she's not a baby...

Ugh, teenagers!

Old 12-28-2012, 07:18 PM

885 posts, read 1,881,812 times