U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Pennsylvania
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 10-02-2014, 08:56 PM

5 posts, read 8,402 times

Advertisements

Hi everyone. We are a family with 3 young boys. We currently live in ithaca ny. I am a health care professional and have the opportunity to possibly move to one of the three mentioned places. Where do you think would be a great fit for us? We are a health minded, active family and are looking for the best place to raise our children.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 10-03-2014, 06:35 AM

Location: Central Texas. Wait, I mean South Texas. Actually, both Central and South Texas
317 posts, read 525,151 times
Greetings,

I'll call myself an expert on Westmont since I grew up there and lived in Johnstown for 26 of my 30 years. Westmont is a very quiet, sleepy, quaint borough. Great public school system. Extremely safe. Keep in mind Johnstown is one of the most economically distressed cities in the country. I would only consider two School Districts in the Johnstown area. Westmont and Richland. The only real places to go shopping in J-Town are in Richland. (Walmart Plaza and the Galleria Mall) So you might want to consider Richland as well. J-Town is only about 1 hr 20 mins from Pittsburgh, something to consider.

Ebensburg is more redneck. I mean J-Town itself is pretty redneck, but Ebensburg even more so. I worked there for a few years and the people are really friendly. Smaller than Johnstown and Hollidaysburg/Altoona area.