U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Covid-19 Information Page
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 01-12-2008, 03:24 PM

10 posts, read 49,000 times

Advertisements

I am thinking of a move to Philadelphia. We'd like to live in a safe urban neighborhood. Safe and urban? Well, urban and not life threatening. I am a high school teacher in California and I'd like to hear from anyone out there that has information regarding the job situation both in city and directly outside the city. I'd be willing to commute 30 to 40 minutes.

As I said, we'd love to live in the city near services and culture but, sadly, we certainly don't have enough money to buy just yet. What neighborhoods have stimulating culture and somewhat affordable rents? What is culture? Culture is a wide variety of live music, arts, book stores (not just the mega chains) coffee houses (not just Starbucks). We want to live in an area with both a nostalgic feeling and with a certain buzz. We like crowds and activity. We like public transportation.

Thanks for any information
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 01-12-2008, 05:48 PM

4,910 posts, read 12,771,485 times
Center City fits your criteria as a place you want to live although its not cheap. Its a very vibrant community especially in the spring and summer. Depending on where you would be placed the Philadelphia public school system can be quite a challenge and thats putting it mildly. You might want to concentrate on private schools or the suburban school districts which are outstanding for the most part.