U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Covid-19 Information Page
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 01-20-2008, 12:01 AM

2 posts, read 6,800 times

Advertisements

Hello everyone,

I am a recent college grad and was offered a job in newark de in the christiana center. I will start in June 08. I am relocating from NYC and was thinking of philadelphia bc of the city life and public transportation. I will be moving with my boyfriend and he does not drive and needs to move around. I am still undecided between de and phily. Which do you think would be best for me? If phily, what neighborhoods do you recommend? I would like a safe neighborhood. My main worry is finding a neighborhood that would have an ok commute to work and that is easy for my boyfriend to move in with public transportation. I am looking to rent a 1 or 2 bedrooms in the $600-$800 range. I appreciate any input. Thanks!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 01-20-2008, 07:57 AM

690 posts, read 2,769,449 times
That is a very low rental range for Philly. It will not get you into any of the more desirable and safe neighborhoods. Could you possibly live with roomates?

Not sure how expensive apts are in delaware. Maybe you should post on the Delaware forum as well.

Old 01-20-2008, 10:43 PM

27 posts, read 30,639 times
what was your rent in NYC..if you could afford to live there a similiar rent will get you something very nice here. But $6-800? wont get you a 2 bedroom in el paso tx let alone philly!

Old 01-21-2008, 06:09 AM

12,767 posts, read 28,906,844 times