U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Covid-19 Information Page
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 07-07-2016, 07:13 PM

1 posts, read 564 times

Advertisements

I'm thinking to moving to Philly for my job, but despite the fact I've lived in DelCo for my entire life, I know pretty much nothing about the city and its neighborhoods. I was hoping I could get some insight as to whether or not I would find a home in Philly or if it's not really for me. If I would fit in in Philly, I would love suggestions on where to live.

A bit about me:
I'm a young twenty something.
I'm a writer and would love to connect with other creatives/have cool places to write. (aka. Are there good coffee shops were I can ingest ungodly amounts of caffeine and bread product while staring at a blank paper.)

Interest wise I may be a hippie/hipster/boho/Pintrester except without the associated pretension. Mostly this comes into play with what I eat. Are there good organic and farm to table options? Don't get me wrong, I love a good cheesesteak and would kill someone over a soft pretzel, but I really value cooking with fresh and healthy ingredients (a la farmers markets and Trader Joes-esq stores).

Along a similar vein here are the things that I do for fun:
- Writing and eating (covered above)
- Yoga. I saw there was free yoga in Philly, but is there actually a subculture of people who do yoga?
- Going to bars and staying out late. This may seem counterintuitive with the vibe of my other questions, but I like to drink and dance. A lot.