Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 01-18-2020, 01:51 PM

2 posts, read 3,515 times

Advertisements

Hi everyone, I am a recent college graduate who has begun working in Malvern at a larger company. Sometime within the next few months, I am looking to move out from my parent's house and live with a roommate. I was obviously thinking about living in or around Philadelphia, but I'm not exactly sure where to start.

I want to live somewhere with a considerable presence of peers - 20 something aged young professionals, and in a safer area. Like I mentioned before, I will most likely be living with one other roommate, and would prefer to keep my portion of the rent payment lower than $1000. In addition to this, I would prefer to live in an area with good night life/good access to night life and the city itself.

As far as the commute goes, I will have access to a car, but I am open to using the train to get to Malvern if it turns out to be easier/more efficient. I would prefer to keep the total commute to around 1 hour max, if possible.

Finally, I would ideally like to live in an area with reasonable access to essentials - grocery stores, restaurants, shopping.

I would appreciate any suggestions or advice, and I am very interesting in hearing any input you might have. Obviously, I know it's probably impossible to find the perfect place with everything I'm interested in, but I would love to have a place with the best combination of the above factors. Thanks everyone for the advice!