Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 06-16-2008, 06:33 AM

12 posts, read 52,692 times

Advertisements

Greetings--

I may be moving to Philadelphia in a week or so. I have been reading these forums a fair amount over the past few weeks. Thank you so much for a wealth of incredibly helpful information!

I would very much appreciate your advice regarding finding an apartment. I am a 22-year-old recent college graduate who will be working pretty long hours (8:00 AM - 11:00 PM). I'm not sure the exact location of the office yet. Between work and play, I don't expect I'd spend much time in an apartment.

--I am not looking for anything fancy--indoor pools, rooftop views, state-of-the-art appliances, glamorous lobbies, etc.

--I'm willing to pay a reasonable price for a neat, clean apartment in a neighborhood where I can come home late at night and be safe.

--Access to public transportation is critical since I do not plan to have a car. I'm very comfortable on the train/bus, but I would not want to walk a long way due to safety concerns when coming home late.

--Ideally, I'd like to be in a happening urban neighborhood with other young singles, an active nightlife, and some place to get food (at least a convenience store).

--My first choice would be a high-rise, but I would be open to other buildings as well.

I have never been to Philly (except for transferring at the airport), so I'd very much appreciate any help with regard to neighborhoods or even specific buildings.

Thank you so much.