U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Covid-19 Information Page
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 02-03-2007, 03:56 PM

1 posts, read 23,592 times

Advertisements

Hello Everyone!

I'm a senior in college (Penn State) and I will be graduating this May. I currently live in State College, PA and I'm from Hershey, PA. I've always wanted to relocate to the Delaware Valley as soon as I graduated. I love Philadelphia and the proximity that the Delaware Valley has to offer (not too far from my hometown, close to the shore/beach, home to all my Philadelphia sports teams, etc., etc.)

Although I'm not 100 % positive yet, I'm considering on living in Northern Delaware (I'm thinking about places such as Wilmington, Bear, or Claymont) and working in Philadelphia. I would most likely take public transportation (SEPTA regional rail) to the 30th street station. My reasoning for wanting to work in the city is that I will most likely be working in a hospital administration position and since Philadelphia has several famous hospitals (UPenn, Childrens Hospital of Phila, Jefferson, etc) I figure I would have plenty of options and hopefully a decent salary.

My question is (to any Del. residents who work in Philly) about the tax deductions from working in another state. I understand that I would have to pay the employee rate of the Phila. wage tax but I was wondering what other taxes that the state of PA takes out of paychecks for working in the state but living in another state. Does it make sense to live in Delaware and work in Philly?