U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Covid-19 Information Page
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 03-01-2007, 01:01 PM

33 posts, read 76,158 times

Advertisements

Hi we are a 50ish couple, currently live in Detroit and would like to move to a more vibrant city with good public transit. My husband is a painter (artist) and I am a community college teacher and freelance writer. Our home is paid for and easy to sell. We live in one of the few up and coming areas of Detroit. We'd like to live in a city with walkable areas, convenient to public transit. We'd like to have just one car and use it occasionally. We are open to city or close in suburbs with some density. We'd like to initially rent an apartment and then buy either a townhouse or condo or two family flat (and we could rent out the other flat). We have one cat.

The advantage of Chicago for us is that it is close to Detroit to visit our family by Megabus or a drive. Philly would require that we fly. My husband also has allergies to pollen and I keep reading that certain places are the "allergy capital of the world". Also, we both like to go out to clubs and go dancing but we don't like to breathe cigarette smoke so we'd like to live in a place that has banned smoking in public places.

Our criteria:

walkable, reasonably safe city
good public transit
homes affordable for middle class
job opportunities, solid economy
good market for artists

thanks, any suggestions would be appreciated.

[+] Rate this post positively
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 03-01-2007, 01:48 PM