U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Covid-19 Information Page
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 03-16-2009, 09:54 PM

17 posts, read 51,155 times

Advertisements

I have a dilemma, let me tell you about it. (I'll make it brief)

I'm an aspiring Photographer and musician and I'm moving to Philadelphia in May to go to The Art Institute of Philadelphia. I'm really excited, but my only worry is that I'll have to put my dreams of being a successful musician (successful on my own terms) on hold for 4 years. By then, I'll be 24.

I have an undying passion (sounds romantic, doesn't it? lol) to be a successful musician and that's been my dream for a very long time. I'm afraid that if I go to school to major in Photography, that I'll never accomplish my real dreams. Going to school for music is NOT an option, please don't ask why.

I know it's not possible to live out to dreams at once and I feel like I have to decide between the 2. Photography OR Music? I'm not asking for you to make the decision for me, I'm asking for your experience and/or advice.

All is appreciated!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 03-17-2009, 07:15 AM

3,299 posts, read 10,753,702 times
I'm not sure what kind of music you are into, but you could always try going to open mic nights or joining an orchestra. I knew a music teacher who drove out to Reading once a week to play.

Old 03-17-2009, 08:26 AM

9,254 posts, read 14,286,242 times