U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Covid-19 Information Page
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 07-06-2009, 09:06 AM

6 posts, read 9,277 times

Advertisements

Hello everyone, I like everyone else am looking for a bit of advice.

I'm a 27yr old Graphic Designer (thomasmattbeckham) in Shreveport, Louisiana. My girlfriend and I are looking to make a move to Philadelphia around February of next year. We don't know anyone up there, but really want to make the move out of the south and up into the east coast. Philly is a much larger city than where we are from and should have a much great offering in the arts and more specifically music. As I also pursue and indie rock band (another reason for wanting to move) and thought it'd be a good location to travel up to New York and many other surrounding cities. We want a much larger "walkable" environment, but know New York is probably out of our price range at the moment.

As far as work goes, I've been employed as a designer for 10 years now, I've been researching but always come across conflicting reports on the job market for designers. Can anyone offer any advice for someone in my boat. Currently making $43,000 as a senior designer, which is way above the average for a designer here in Shreveport. There is absolutely no more room to grown in my town, as I've worked up and up with no where left to climb to with out starting my own agency, which isn't part of my plan at the moment.