Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Arizona > Phoenix area
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 05-16-2011, 10:46 AM

29 posts, read 68,842 times

Advertisements

My wife an I are considering relocating to the Phoenix/Scottsdale area. I am 35, she is 32 and we have no kids. I am a professional medical/dental sales rep and my wife currently works in retail but has worked in the restaurant/bar industry as well. We currently reside in CT. Tired of the so-so weather, high taxes, small town politics, high cost of living, etc., we have decided to entertain moving. We will likely have a child or 2 at some point, and while still child free we figure now would be the time if we are going to do it.

From the research I have done, it seems that we would be looking at homes from as far north as Fountain Hills area, to as far south as Chandler and east towards Queen Creek. Compared to CT, the real estate prices seem like screaming bargains! I am absolutely flabbergasted at what $300-$400K can get you. Houses with comparable amenities out here would literally be more than double (and that includes taking the slumped housing market into consideration), with property taxes 4-6X as much. I am not exaggerating. I would prefer a lot that is a little larger than a postage stamp, that's why I think we would likely wind up on the outskirts a little bit.

I have just begun researching jobs in my field and have seen quite a few opportunities. Since Scottsdale is know for it's shopping and dining, I don't think my wife will have much of an issue.