U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Arizona > Phoenix area
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Closed Thread Start New Thread

Old 06-03-2012, 10:04 PM

36 posts, read 86,220 times

Advertisements

I am a lifelong California resident and I am wondering if there are any native Californians living in Phx. What made you move out of our poorly ran state? The job market here is so bad that I'm thinking about heading out to the valley of the sun. What are some things I should know about Phx I take for granted in Los Angeles? Thanks guys.
Rate this post positively

Old 06-03-2012, 10:16 PM

3,502 posts, read 9,176,274 times
Not a native California resident but I lived there for 10 years prior to moving here. This state is not run any better. Overspending and budget cuts are common. Educational system isn't better. Cost of living is somewhat cheaper but wages are much less. You will miss the beach. Overall I prefer Phoenix (Surprise) over Los Angeles (Palmdale) but would pick San Diego if I could afford it. The job market is also very weak in Phoenix.

Old 06-03-2012, 10:34 PM

1,538 posts, read 3,375,232 times
I grew up in California but I moved to Oregon from there and I finally moved to the east valley in Mesa.
I go back to California all the time to visit family.
To me, California has too much. Just too much of everything but to answer your question, the first thing you need to understand is the heat and lack of humidity. I personally like the weather and dryness here but I understand it's not for everybody.