Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Arizona > Phoenix area
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Closed Thread Start New Thread

Old 06-16-2012, 04:13 PM

5 posts, read 176,301 times

Advertisements

I'm fairly new to the North Phoenix area and the racism I've experienced is beyond belief. I'm a 30 yr old AA woman from Los Angeles, CA. I'm a mother of one and a small business owner. I moved to Phoenix because I've visited a few times and really liked the neighborhoods as well as the cost of living. I'm a person who researches just about everything, so I did major research on my current area. What I didn't research is "racism in AZ." Out of all the things I was concerned about moving out here, I never once thought that racism would turn out to be my only concern. I dress nice, keep myself up, in shape, pleasant attitude so what the hell is the deal? Oh! It's the color of my skin. When I first moved here a few months ago, I noticed extreme staring like I was a space alien or something. I didn't make anything of it. I The very next day I was in CVS, stood behind this lady in the checkout line, she moved away from me like I was a deadly disease, stood across from me and looked at me in utter disgust. I was so pissed, but I calmly told her "where I'm from, if someone behaved the way you just did, you would've got your ass whopped." Then my son and I were in a restaurant eating and there were kids sitting in the booth in front of us. The kids and my son were talking baby talk (mind you my son is only 1), the mother leaned down and told her young children in a harsh tone "DO NOT TOUC