Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Photography
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 06-12-2011, 02:05 PM

568 posts, read 1,209,793 times

Advertisements

Hi all,

I'm hoping you can give me some camera upgrading advice based on my specific photo habits and needs. I currently have an old film camera: Canon EOS Elan II, in conjunction with a Tokina 28-300 zoom lens that served me pretty well in the old days while it lasted (obviously I'm not a pro, but like to take a little more care in my pix than the average point-n-shooter). But I find the digital world a bit confusing and overwhelming!

Being a mere hobbyist, it seems a lot of the current cameras have a lot more gadgetry and features than I would ever find use for. Why buy more than what I need? I like the old-fashioned feel of cropping my images directly through the pathfinder and through adjusting the telephoto lens. Maybe I'm just being stupid and can't keep up with the times! I'm thinking of getting another Canon slr (digital), so I can keep using my Tokina in the meantime until I can afford a nicer upgrade on the lens. Here are some preferences I have:

- I don't need or want video-cam capabilities
- I usually like landscaping, still-life, slow nature, or architectural photos...I rarely take portrait or night-time or high-speed/sports photos.
- I do like to occasionally have my photos somewhat enlarged so I can frame them (largest so far is 1 ft x 8 inches). I want something that will allow at least an equivalent amount of quality when enlarged.