Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Florida > Port St. Lucie - Sebastian - Vero Beach
 [Register]
Port St. Lucie - Sebastian - Vero Beach St. Lucie, Martin, and Indian River counties (Treasure Coast)
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 10-29-2012, 10:41 AM

374 posts, read 548,933 times

Advertisements

Hi,

I'm considering getting my real estate license. Is it possible to start part-time? I am a school teacher and would like to start part-time in the summer to see how things go. I would be scared to quit my job cold turkey...I've got a child to support.

Anyway, thanks for your advice/input.

~Allison
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 10-29-2012, 12:10 PM

4,507 posts, read 9,201,048 times
Allison.. in this market I would highly recommend you NOT become a Real Estate Agent, especially a part time one. Many have gotten out of the business entirely in the last couple of years.

You MUST have at least 6 months on saved income to live on to even THINK about it. At least that was the old money amount needed. I have no idea what it might be in todays economy...maybe its more since we pay for EVERYTHING plus just the right to use the Brokers name. I mean e v e r y t h i n g down to postage stamps and pieces of copy paper. Nothing is free.

Besides the fact that you really can't do this part time and do ANY good to your customer and clients. You won't be available when they need you--which can be 24/7.... you are teaching school.

NO....this job is NOT easy.. this job does not make quick money .... this job is NOT what you think it is...