Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Maine > Portland area
 [Register]
Portland area Portland, ME metro area
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 11-08-2016, 05:00 PM

7 posts, read 4,982 times

Advertisements

I am a restaurant professional planning on moving out of CA in the next 6-12 months. Portland is on my long list of places under consideration.

Two things I'm wondering about Portland:

1) I'm from the Northeast. Overall, I love the clientele in that region. If the bulk of clientele in a high-end restaurant will be East Coasters, then that is terrific. I do wonder whether cruise ships come into Portland at all. Having spent a year in Hawaii, I can say without reservation that cruise ship clientele by and large, is trashy as can be.

2) I'm wondering about the amount of business. I've heard that Portland gets quite the tourist season in the summer. How about the fall-winter-spring? Is there enough business driven by locals for a service professional to do well?

Thanks Much!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 11-09-2016, 02:52 PM

80 posts, read 122,534 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by notreadyfortheshow View Post

1) I'm from the Northeast. Overall, I love the clientele in that region. If the bulk of clientele in a high-end restaurant will be East Coasters, then that is terrific. I do wonder whether cruise ships come into Portland at all. Having spent a year in Hawaii, I can say without reservation that cruise ship clientele by and large, is trashy as can be.