U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Maine > Portland area
 [Register]
Portland area Portland, ME metro area
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 08-16-2009, 01:32 PM

89 posts, read 185,823 times

Advertisements

Hi everyone,
I have been following these forums for awhile but this is my first time posting a new thread.

My husband will be doing a month long rotation at Maine Medical Center in Portland in September. I am looking into craigslist and roommates.com for temporary housing but am not having much luck. Beyond that, a month long car rental is horribly expensive. So that limits his housing options a lot.

Do any of you know of any alternatives to the usual car rental way of transportation? If I need to, I will limit my housing search to the downtown area so he can just walk to work. But he enjoys outdoor activities a lot (fly-fishing, hiking, white-water kayaking) and I wouldn't want to deprive him if there is another way..

Does anyone have some suggestions for housing and cheap cars?

Thanks in advance!
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 08-16-2009, 07:16 PM

176 posts, read 554,344 times
About housing: They just finished building a Residence Inn for long term stays on the watefront

Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront: Spacious suites and amenities for longer stays

Not sure about how to get around. There's a new car sharing thing called U-Car Share, but I don't know a whole lot about it.

https://www.ucarshare.com/secure/Home.aspx