Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Oregon > Portland
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 02-09-2008, 01:28 PM

12 posts, read 44,489 times

Advertisements

Hi all,

I am a masters student (21) at the University of Warwick in England, and seem to be thinking of moving away all the time. I want an adventure, something new, in a beautiful place... I have been looking at cities all over the USA and Portland is in my short list! One question I have is; does it rain more in Portland than London? From the stats it seems to rain more in Portland and a big part of moving away from the UK is to have a much more outdoors way of life, which I'm worried the rain might limit. The rain and darkness in the UK can affect my mood; so climate wise when it rains in Portland is it typically a short heavy shower or more of a misty drizzle? So far Portland seem almost spot on with your gardens/coast/forest/lakes and rivers, plus you guys can go skiing in your mountains, something that is a little hard in the south east of England...

Does anyone know what the technology jobs market is like, especially clean tech as this is what my projects have been in at Uni.

Cheers

Last edited by lemigsaw; 02-09-2008 at 01:32 PM.. Reason: error
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 02-09-2008, 05:21 PM

493 posts, read 664,906 times
More of a mistry drizzle. The weather here is very similar to northwestern Europe actually.

Old 02-09-2008, 11:09 PM

865 posts, read 2,500,919 times