Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Oregon > Portland
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 05-14-2016, 11:49 PM

386 posts, read 1,215,481 times

Advertisements

I'm a route driver moving to Portland in early 2017 from Mobile, Alabama. Right now I make $17.75 hr and was wondering what route drivers make on average in Portland. Also, what is the average rent for non-govt assistance apartments running? Just me and my 12 yr old mix dog and my job transfer will be in Troutdale. And info/links on good reputable apartments or room/small house/cottage rentals would be most appreciated. Thanks!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 05-16-2016, 09:13 AM

9,855 posts, read 11,914,228 times
Did you say "job transfer"? I have to assume then that you know whether you will be making your present $17.75/hr or something different when you start working in Portland. What does it matter what other systems pay? I'm not trying to be snarky. Truly it doesn't matter. Your mission is to figure out how to live well on the income you have contracted for. Troutdale is nice enough. Craigslist is my go to apt. finding tool. Others recommend Padmapper which to me seems to be a Craigslist front end. Craigslist has its own mapping feature now so I can't see the distinction.

Old 05-16-2016, 05:37 PM

32,606 posts, read 47,873,838 times
I asked my truck driver son for you and he said "what the *bleep* is a route driver? That could be anything from a bicycle messenger to a semi driver."

So, a lot is going to depend upon what sort of "route" you are driving and for whom.