Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Psychology
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Closed Thread Start New Thread

Old 11-15-2019, 07:41 AM

6,394 posts, read 4,123,123 times

Advertisements

Feeling depressed now so I feel like sharing.

About 6 months ago, husband and I fully committed ourselves to our business. It has taken us 7 years of planning and preparations to get to this point. I was an engineer and he was a PR professional. Our business utilisizes both of our skills fully.

I'm an asian immigrant. To us asian immigrants, job security is very very very very important. And it doesn't help that I came from a culture that actually looks down on starting a business. I normally don't tell people this because western culture encourages people to start businesses. Where I came from, the big psychological belief is you either inherit your wealth and business or you spend all your life working for somebody else.

I actually have a theory on this. I believe this cultural belief came from the old aristocratic system where you were either born into nobility or not. The old money folks perpetuated this cultural belief to keep the masses down.