Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > North Carolina > Raleigh, Durham, Chapel Hill, Cary
 [Register]
Raleigh, Durham, Chapel Hill, Cary The Triangle Area
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 07-01-2007, 09:09 PM

23 posts, read 81,182 times

Advertisements

My wife and I recently got married and will be relocating from Boston to the Raleigh/Durham area in mid-August. We have narrowed our search to NW Raleigh and love it's proximity to the airport, shopping, and potential commute to Duke Medical (I'm a physical therapist who will be starting work at Duke Medical at the end of August).

We will be looking at housing this coming weekend and our real estate agent has suggested looking into properties in Durham County as well- just over the border from Wake County (off Route 70).

We know we can get more house for our money in Durham County vs. Wake County, but what are other advantages to buying in that particular area of Durham County? Appreciation of home? Resale Value? Commute to Duke? Proximity to shopping? Recreation?

Thanks in advance for everyone's feedback!

Jason
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 07-01-2007, 09:24 PM

381 posts, read 1,325,572 times
Default That's tough

That's a tough one.

I think both areas will appreciate rather well.

Wake Co:
Higher prices;
Better schools;
Some areas under flight path;
Traffic is more congested heading into RTP or toward Duke.

Durham Co:
Prices can be far lower for exactly the same house with more land than Wake*;