U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > North Carolina > Raleigh, Durham, Chapel Hill, Cary
 [Register]
Raleigh, Durham, Chapel Hill, Cary The Triangle Area
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Closed Thread Start New Thread

Old 01-03-2013, 09:44 AM

54 posts, read 113,354 times

Advertisements

I think I may have a virus on my desktop - I would rather have someone else do their magic instead of me trying to download software and search for viruses - I would really like to not uninstall the OS - but if all else fails - I am an online college student starting classes in a week - I need a working, reliable computer. Any suggestions, perhaps someone on the forum that deal with computers, or any good experiences with any local companies. All suggestions much appreciated.
Rate this post positively

Old 01-03-2013, 09:50 AM

1,508 posts, read 2,143,286 times
Absolute Computers in Cary is great - took my laptop to them when it had a hard drive issue and they resolved the issue quickly and, more importantly, called me before they did any repairs to let me know what my options were, how much the repair would cost, and to get my consent. They're definitely who I'd take my computer to for anything I couldn't handle myself. They specifically offer virus and malware removal services

Old 01-03-2013, 09:51 AM

4,360 posts, read 4,974,866 times
Before you pay someone, download and run Malwarebytes. They have both a pay and a free version. The free version usually takes care of most things.

Old 01-03-2013, 01:09 PM

117 posts, read 267,589 times
Default Computer repair