U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > North Carolina > Raleigh, Durham, Chapel Hill, Cary
 [Register]
Raleigh, Durham, Chapel Hill, Cary The Triangle Area
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 05-12-2014, 06:55 AM

5,369 posts, read 4,004,728 times

Advertisements

Hey everyone,

I'm new to this forum but have read stuff on here before; and it seems like there are a lot of insightful people on here so I wanted to get some input.

I'm a single guy in my mid 20's. I graduated from UNC a few years ago (grew up in Raleigh/Wake County) and now work full time in Chapel Hill. I've been living here since graduation and as of December have started a full time position at the organization where I was working part-time since my senior year of college. My job is definitely "entry level" but is one that I enjoy and I can see myself staying at my current employer for a good while.

I like the idea of taking the next step towards adult-hood and owning a home. I was pre-qualified (not pre-approved, and I do know there is a big difference) for a loan of about $110k. I have $3500 in savings and qualify for an FHA loan with 3.5% down-payment. My dad has said he can help with some of the other up-front costs (inspection, pre-paid interest, appraisal, etc.)

I found a townhouse in Carrboro (in Canterbury Townhomes off 54) that I really liked, priced at $113k, offered $109 and eventually settled at $111k with 2k in seller-assist for closing costs. So I am now technically "under contract".