U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > North Carolina > Raleigh, Durham, Chapel Hill, Cary
 [Register]
Raleigh, Durham, Chapel Hill, Cary The Triangle Area
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 12-14-2006, 05:51 AM

2 posts, read 6,698 times

Advertisements

Hi,
I am new to this country and have just moved in from India. I have a son who will be ready to go to school in a years time and so far from my research I have found that Chapel Hill has one of the best public schooling system. However, I have a few questions and would appreciate if someone could provide me more information on the following;
1) How is the county schooling system designed? Can one go to any of the schools in the county as long as he/she is the county boundary?
2) What is the difference between Chapel Hill county schools and Carrboro County schools? The website says Chapel Hill Carrboro County schools. Does it mean that they fall under the same administration and the Carrboro county schools are academically as good as their counterparts in Chapel Hill?
3) If we stay at Carrboro, can I send my son to a school in Chapel Hill?

Thanks in Advance,
NS
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 12-14-2006, 06:03 AM

1,531 posts, read 7,165,241 times
I can understand how you can be confused....

In North Carolina, most of the time, schools are run by the counties. For example, Wake County runs all the schools in Raleigh, Cary, Apex and the other cities in that county.