Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > North Carolina > Raleigh, Durham, Chapel Hill, Cary
 [Register]
Raleigh, Durham, Chapel Hill, Cary The Triangle Area
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 02-09-2010, 05:57 PM

1 posts, read 1,325 times

Advertisements

Can someone give me some real insight on the Raleigh/Durham area's vision for the Fine Arts? I currently teach high school band band in Metro Atlanta, and I have been teaching for more than 16 years here. But I am considering re-locating near the Raleigh/Durham area to be closer to my daughter. However, I can stay where I am if NC school districts only view the Fine Arts to be disguised baby-sitting services for "Music Appreciation" dumping grounds. lol
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 02-10-2010, 09:32 AM

1,751 posts, read 3,688,415 times
Hi!
I am also looking for teaching positions in Wake County. I wish I could answer your question.

What I have heard is that although there is county wide curriculum, it is applied in each building by a different principal with different theories and methods, and thus each school varies.

I'm applying for jobs I'm qualified for and I hope to have some of my questions answered if I get an interview. But it sure would be frustrating to spend time and money on a job hunt only to discover that I would not be interested after all (from a professsional point of view).

I'll bet there is a NC Music Educators Association of some kind that might be able to provide you with the detail you need.

Best of luck to you!

Old 02-10-2010, 10:15 AM

1,277 posts, read 3,548,381 times