U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Real Estate
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 09-22-2010, 06:56 PM

12,434 posts, read 29,351,448 times

Advertisements

I'm in FL and as you know there are some really good deals out there. This is my first time doing this, but it's always been a dream of mine. I do realize how important it is to get a thorough inspection and there maybe hidden costs afterwards. I'll be a cash buyer looking to buy around $30K and invest some money for repairs. After selling, I'm looking to make a small profit of $20K-$30K.

Homes that are remodeled in the $75K range are selling here. What do you all think?
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 09-22-2010, 07:07 PM

28,461 posts, read 78,220,560 times
Default Go cheap, go quick, go light...

If you can do this in a business like way, with a really great timeline, utilizing only "non-heavy duty" remodeling you MIGHT do OK.

If you go for expensive / luxury stuff, with some rough cut on a calendar, and get stuck with roofing, plumbing, electrical and structural issues you will get EATEN ALIVE...

I personally have never bought a property to flip, but a few propeties that were in rough shape that I did buy to use as rentals did become far more valuable after I spruced 'em up. Beating the regular appreciation rate was a nice side benefit...

If you do not have experience doing this and relationships with trustworthy tradespeople it will not be pretty. Time and money will be sucked up faster than you can imagine...

Old 09-23-2010, 05:01 AM