Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Real Estate
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 06-03-2011, 12:05 PM

8,518 posts, read 15,639,558 times

Advertisements

I'm currently renting an apartment. I've been renting for about 10 years now, mainly because I kept moving from city to city, but also to save up money for a down payment on a house. Well I'm finally done moving and am ready to plant some roots. I've got a good paying job, no debt outside of a car loan, a good credit score, and enough to put down 20%. Problem is that the housing market is terrible. You'd think that would be great for someone like me who's looking to buy. But like a lot of buyers, I'm reluctant to buy anything. The value of whatever I buy could drop or I might need to sell and not be able to without taking a loss. Given how bad the market is, do you think it would be wise for me to buy a place or should I just wait? How will we know when the market has truly bottomed out? Also, I don't expect interest rates to go down anymore, but what are the chances of them going up?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 06-03-2011, 12:20 PM

6,952 posts, read 22,684,678 times
In what city are you considering buying? That's a big factor. But if you think there's a really good chance you wont stay 5 years or longer in the house, probably renting is best.

Old 06-03-2011, 12:29 PM

1,168 posts, read 2,503,770 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by DennyCrane View Post